The Easter Bunny was very busy at Togher N.S. He dropped Easter eggs for the children in the Junior classroom and Easter eggs in the school grounds for the Senior pupils. All the children had great fun searching and they were truly delighted when they found the items left by the Easter bunny.
We are sad to say he didn’t leave anything for the teachers!

Lifelong Learning Festival

The Lifelong Learning Festival runs for Monday 8th April to Saturday 13th April and features dozens of free events, talks and workshops all over Cork City & County. Dunmanway is no exception! There are free workshops and talks which are mainly open to adults, brochures for the festival are available in the library and in many outlets in the town.

 

In keeping with the theme of lifelong learning there is a family quiz available from Dunmanway Library which encourages adults and children to explore a little bit of the town and use a little bit  of Irish. “Discover Dún Mhánmhaí as Gaeilge” is a short quiz that can be taken away, completed and returned to the library. Prizes include family passes to Dunmanway Swimming Pool, Family passes to Dunmanway Pitch & Putt Club and a hamper of books.

Copies of the quiz were distributed to pupils in 3rd – 6th class.

Upcoming Events

Friday 12th April— Easter Holidays

Monday 29th April—School re-opens at 9.10am after Easter holidays

Wednesday 1st May—First Confession in St James Church, Togher

Friday 3rd May—Sciath na Scol football Blitz

Monday 6th May—School closed for Bank Holiday

Saturday 18th May—Holy Communion in St James Church, Togher

Thursday 30th May—Cork City Sports

Monday 3rd June –School closed for Bank Holiday

Monday 10th June—School closed for Staff In-service

Wednesday, 19th June—School Tour (Let’s Go!)

Friday, 21st June—Summer Holidays

 

Puff Pastry Pizza

The children made puff pastry pizza with Karen this week. The children enjoyed rolling the pastry, chopping the vegetables and of course eating the pizza.

Gaelic Football

This week we have been developing our Gaelic Football skills. The weather over the last few days has been fantastic so we took the opportunity to get out to the football pitch and hone our soloing, hand-passing, kicking and catching skills. Then it was time for a game of Gaelic Football in the warm sunshine.